Tomato Preserving

I chose to do tomatoes and make them into a tomato sauce using the method preserving. I used Roma tomatoes.

First what you want to do is wash all the tomatoes and cut the bottom of a Roma tomato and put them all in a pot. I put them in whole but you are also able to cut them into chunks or pieces depending on how you like it. Once that’s done, you boil them.

canning-tomatoes-simmering

Once they are done boiling, You then have to get a masher and put in the tomatoes and that will get out the juice and from that stage you can get jars to put the sauce in them and put a lid on them. You don’t have to do this step but i did it. You put a the jar into a pot and boil it for 5-10 minutes.

Your final product should look like this: tomato sauce

I was successful because I’m Italian and in my family we have sauce every year so for the last couple years now I’ve been helping out my grandparents with it!

Leave a Reply

